Scott (RP Motorsport) wins hard-fought race 1 at Estoril


Briton Scott took his maiden win in the series ahead of Vaidyanathan (Carlin) and Iorio (Campos Racing) at a race packed with action. Fittje (Fortec) finished on the top of the podium in the rookie class with Martínez (Teo Martín Motorsport) and Florescu (Campos Racing)

The Euroformula Open started in style at Autódromo do Estoril with the opening race producing some breathtaking racing with its 19-car field. Harrison Scott (RP Motorsport) stormed to his maiden Euroformula Open victory with two other drivers celebrating their first podium in the series: Ameya Vaidyanathan (Carlin) and Matheus Iorio (Campos Racing). Jannes Fittje (Fortec), Eliseo Martínez (Teo Martín Motorsport) and Petru Florescu (Campos Racing) climbed on the podium in the rookie class.

Early in the morning, Scott also secured his maiden pole position after setting some impressive lap times with his Dallara. Briton Scott was some seven tenths of a second faster than closest rival Nikita Troitskiy (Drivex). Vaidyanathan and Thiago Vivacqua (Campos Racing) shared row two and Yan Leon Shlom (Fortec) started fifth on the grid ahead of Devlin DeFrancesco (Carlin). Alex Karkosik (RP Motorsport) got another honorable mention as he qualified seventh on his debut in the series. 

The start of the race saw Troitskiy moving into the lead passing pole-sitter. Scott still managed to keep Vaidyanathan at bay with Vivacqua, Karkosik and Shlom right behind. An eventful first lap had two early retirements as Pedro Cardoso (Teo Martín Motorsport) and Daniil Pronenko (BVM Racing) crashed each other. Vivacqua, running a solid fourth, also was forced to retire even before the safety car was deployed on lap two.

The safety car pulled off after five laps and at the restart Scott immediately moved past Troitskiy for the lead on the straight but Russia’s racer retook first place only a few moments later. Forming a three-way battle, Vaidyanathan also joined the battle up front. Once again, one lap later, Scott charged to the lead and Vaidyanathan, in his slipstream, also passed Troitskiy, who dropped to third. Both Scott and Vaidyanathan pulled away but Troitskiy struggled to keep pace. In fact, Shlom, Iorio, Karkosik and DeFrancesco added extra spice as they caught Troitskiy. Karkosik and DeFrancesco made contact and missed chance to score a brilliant result on their debut in the series. Seconds later, Troitskiy touched Shlom rear tire with his front wing. As a result, Nikita was forced to retire later and Shlom dropped down the order.

Despite Vaidyanathan was pushing hard, Scott had the race under control and after twenty laps he took the checkered flag with a 1.3 seconds advantage on Carlin driver. Behind, Iorio secured final step of the rostrum after moving up to third on lap nine. Fittje finished fourth to conquer win in the rookie class and Martínez and Florescu came fifth and sixth. Christian Hahn (Drivex) took seventh ahead of Ludovico Laurini (RP Motorsport). Javier Cobián (Teo Martín Motorsport) and Karkosik rounded off the top-ten.