Nikita Troitskiy (Drivex) tops final day of Jerez Winter Series


Euroformula Open’s Winter Series came to an end with up to six drivers lapping under the previous record at Circuito de Jerez

Russia’s Nikita Troitskiy (Drivex) has gone fastest on the second day of Euroformula Open’s Winter Series at Circuito de Jerez. As more rubber had been laid on track, lap times dropped over the course of the day and six drivers lapped quicker than Ferdinand Habsburg’s pole position time, a 1:35.003 posted in Q2 last year. Troitskiy took his Drivex-entered Dallara F312 in an outstanding lap time of 1:34.038, two tenths clear of Romania’s Petru Florescu (Campos Racing). Florescu still managed to beat Carlin driver Ameya Vaidyanathan. The Indian driver finished third ahead of Germany’s Jannes Fittje (Fortec) and Canada’s Devlin DeFrancesco (Carlin). They all, including Thiago Vivacqua (Campos Racing), who took 6th place on the timesheets, improved previous Euroformula Open record in Jerez.

Behind, Russian Yan Shlom (Fortec) took seventh place ahead of Pedro Cardoso (Teo Martín Motorsport) and Matheus Iorio (Campos Racing), the Brazilian duo in the top-ten once again. Australia’s Thomas Randle also made it into the top ten for RP Motorsport on his debut ahead of his teammate and newcomer Óscar Tunjo. Tunjo has displayed talent both days. Right behind, another young gun, Poland’s Alex Karkosik (Campos Racing). Eliseo Martínez (Teo Martín Motorsport), Christian Hahn (Drivex), Daniil Pronenko (BVM Racing), Ludovico Laurini (RP Motorsport) and Javier Cobián (Teo Martín Motorsport) were the finishing order.